Friday, April 19, 2024

NAHJ to present Journalism Awards in October

Posted by Elena del Valle on September 19, 2006

 Tu Dinero cover October 2006

Tu Dinero magazine October 2006 cover

Photo: Tu Dinero magazine

Washington, D.C.  — The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) will recognize 20 journalists and media outlets from a diverse range of places such as Los Angeles, Miami, El Paso, and Barcelona, Spain, at the organization’s 21 Noche de Triunfos Journalism Awards Gala on October 5, 2006 in Washington, D.C. The 2006 ñ and Journalism Awards recognize print, wire, broadcast media and one online publication. 

Two media outlets received ñ Awards, NAHJ’s highest honors. Tu Dinero, a year old Spanish language magazine on financial issues, published by Editorial Televisa, received this year’s Leadership Award. The Broadcast Journalist of the Year Award was for Ernesto Schweikert, owner, and the staff of New Orleans’ KGLA Radio Tropical for their work providing the region’s Spanish-speaking community with information in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. The awards are designed to honor “excellent work that truly serves the Latino community and outstanding journalists.”

“The excellent and varied work Latino journalists are doing not only makes us proud, but proves that we have a valuable contribution to make in an informed, democratic society,” said Ivan Roman, executive director, NAHJ. “Latino journalists and other colleagues keep making strides in telling our stories, and their work encourages us to keep moving forward in that effort.”

Tony Delgado of KHOU in Houston received the Photojournalist of the Year Award. The Frank del Olmo Print Journalist of the Year is Rocky Mountain News’ city columnist Tina Griego. Daniel Hernandez, a writer with L.A. Weekly and formerly with the Los Angeles Times, was selected as the Emerging Journalist of the Year.

The 14 Journalism Awards honor journalists for their coverage of stories like Guatemalan mudslides, the Mara Salvatrucha gang in El Salvador, hidden pesticides causing deformities in children, the abuse of Latino workers who plant U.S. forests, the scourge of land mines in Latin America, the influence of the Christian right in politics, and struggles of Mexican police on Tijuana streets controlled by drug cartels.

This year’s winners for print media are: Breaking News to E. Eduardo Castillo, Associated Press; Commentary to Ana Menendez, The Miami Herald; Design to Hugo Espinoza, Chicago Tribune; Feature to Luis Fabregas, Pittsburgh Tribune Review and Krissah Williams, The Washington Post; Investigative News to John Lantigua, Christine Evans and Christine Stapleton, The Palm Beach Post.

In Television: Breaking News to Maria Elena Salinas, “Aqui y Ahora,” Univision; Documentary to Llucia Oliva, Jose Jimenez Pons and Juan Antonio Sacaluga, TVE (Spanish Public Television); Feature to Rebecca Medina, Miguel Mendez, KDBC 4; Investigative News to Alvaro Visiers and Mario Carrasco, WGBO Univision.

In Radio: Reporting to Mandalit del Barco, National Public Radio. In Photo: News to Hector Amezcua, The Sacramento Bee; Story to Marice Cohn Band, The Miami Herald. Anna Cearley-Rivas, San Diego Union Tribune, received the Guillermo Martinez-Marquez Award for Latin American Reporting. And, the Online category winning feature was by Tom Knudson and Hector Amezcua, The Sacramento Bee,