Tuesday, November 15, 2022

Mexican Soccer Returns to Azteca America

Posted by Elena del Valle on January 20, 2006

Damian Alvarez

Damian Alvarez of Monarcas Morelia in 2005 game

Los Angeles, California – Azteca America opens the soccer season with the kickoff of the 2006 Closing Tournament beginning Saturday, January 21 at 4 pm EST  (3 pm CST  and 1 pm PST) featuring the Jaguares of Chiapas facing off against the Chivas of Guadalajara in what is expected to be very exciting play. Next, at 6 pm EST (5 pm CST and 3 pm PST), they present the Tecos of Guadalajara versus San Luis, which pits one of the stronger teams in the league against a San Luis squad that needs to prove it belongs in the big league this season.  At 8 pm EST (7 pm CST and 5 pm PST), Azteca America presents the Monarcas Morelia versus Cruz Azul. Both teams have strong traditions and need to prove to fans that 2006 is their year to shine.

On Sunday, January 22 at 5 pm EST (4 pm CST / 2 pm PST) it’s Pachuca against Monterrey. Pachuca, which finished the prior regular season in sixth place, will face the runners up of the prior championship, the Rayados of Monterrey. Special pre-game shows will be broadcast 30 minutes prior to the Jaguares-Chivas and Pachuca-Monterrey matches.

Azteca America is a wholly-owned subsidiary of TV Azteca S.A. de C.V., one of the largest producers of Spanish language television content in the world. Azteca America has presence in more than 40 Hispanic markets, including: Los Angeles, New York, Miami, Houston, Chicago, Dallas, San Antonio, San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, Phoenix, Brownsville-McAllen, Albuquerque, San Diego, Fresno-Visalia, Sacramento-Stockton-Modesto, Denver, Orlando, Austin, Tampa, Corpus Christi, Tucson, Las Vegas, Colorado Springs, Monterey-Salinas, Hartford, Salt Lake City, Bakersfield, West Palm Beach-Ft. Pierce, Santa Barbara, Palm Springs, Omaha, Amarillo, Yakima, Naples-Ft. Myers, Wichita, Reno, Boise, Victoria, Oklahoma City, Charleston and Chattanooga. For more information visit Azteca America